Global Links

For Alumni and Friends of The State University of New Jersey

Bookmark and Share


Awards and honors for faculty and staff.


Gyorgy Buzsaki
Gyorgy Buzsaki is a professor at the Center for Molecular and Behavioral Neuroscience at Rutgers–Newark.

Brain Gain
A prestigious international science foundation awarded Gyorgy Buzsaki, a Rutgers Board of Governors Distinguished Professor of Neuroscience, its top honor for 2011—the Brain Prize—for his contribution to understanding how the cerebral cortex, a vital region responsible for certain forms of memory, works. Buzsaki, a professor at the Center for Molecular and Behavioral Neuroscience at Rutgers–Newark, shared the honor, given by the Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Foundation, with two fellow Hungarians, Tamas Freund and Peter Somogyi, who have collaborated in their research of, and explanations for, clinical conditions ranging from Parkinson’s disease and epilepsy to anxiety and dementia.

Daniel Hart—a professor in the Department of Psychology and the Department of Childhood Studies and director of the Center for Children and Childhood Studies at Rutgers–Camden—was named the 2011 winner of the Daniel Gorenstein Memorial Award, an honor bestowed by the university in recognition of outstanding scholarly achievement and exceptional service to the university.

Richard Edwards, dean at the School of Social Work in New Brunswick, received the 2011 Chauncey Alexander Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Network for Social Work Managers for his contribution to the field of social work management.

Five professors among 500 scholars were promoted to fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science: Eva Y. Andrei GSNB’81, Department of Physics and Astronomy, School of Arts and Sciences (SAS); Karl F. Nordstrom RC’63, GSNB’72, ’75, Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences (SEBS); Karin M. Rabe, Department of Physics and Astronomy, SAS; Barbara J. Turpin, Department of Environmental Sciences, SEBS; and Chung S. Yang, Department of Chemical Biology, Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy.

Ethel Brooks, an associate professor in the Department of Women’s and Gender Studies in the School of Arts and Sciences, received the Fulbright-University of the Arts London Distinguished Chair Award, which is an invitation to conduct research at the University of the Arts Research Centre for Transnational Art, Identity, and Nation.

Mike DuHaime LC’95, SCILS’95, a political strategist for the Republican Party and an adjunct faculty member at the Eagleton Institute of Politics, was named one of Time magazine’s “40 Under 40 Rising Stars of U.S. Politics.”